Posted by: johnpaulmamaradlo | July 4, 2012

My Example of Photography as a Rape

http://ilovephilippines10.weebly.com/uploads/7/8/4/9/7849718/3112265.jpg?222

This is my example of photography as a rape because the minority woman exhibits an emotionless smile. Her smile looks like a “forced” one, maybe because the photographer made a lot of persuasions, and the woman, as a sign of hospitality, flashed a smile. Her “fake” smile meant (for me) that she didn’t  know what to express because the photographer might have been in a hurry to take her picture. Or it might be because she was not really happy about her picture being taken. She allowed her picture to be taken because of hospitality, as  I have said earlier, or because she wanted the photographer to leave her immediately. Her smile proves this.

I don’t know if this is the real intention of the site http://ilovephilippines10.weebly.com/ since it propagates our history and culture (note the ilovephilippines). I made this as my example of photography as a form of rape because her smile looks restrained.


Responses

  1. read and marked. i hope the picture appears.


Leave a comment

Categories